If you plan to be out driving the open roads, you have to have auto insurance in Florida. Direct Auto Insurance offers the right amount of coverage to keep you legal on the roads.
If you live or are moving to Florida, here's the required amount of auto insurance you will need to drive legally on the roads.
Florida law requires that you carry $10,000 personal injury protection (“PIP”) insurance coverage.
PIP covers you - regardless of fault (i.e. whether or not you cause the crash) - up to the limits of your policy. Your PIP will also cover members of your household and your passengers if they don’t have PIP Insurance as long as they do not own a vehicle (passengers in your car who carry PIP will be covered under their own policy for their injuries). PIP coverage also protects you while you’re in someone else's vehicle, as a pedestrian, or bicyclist if you suffer an injury in a crash involving a motor vehicle.
Florida law also requires that you have financial responsibility on all your registered vehicles and that you carry proof of insurance in all vehicles. The easiest way to maintain financial responsibility is with car insurance. The minimum liability limits required for car insurance in Florida is:
If you are convicted of DUI, you will be required to have insurance with liability limits of $100,000/$300,000 for bodily injury and $50,000 for property damage and file an FR44 certificate of insurance.
If you purchase bodily injury coverage, your insurance company is required to offer you uninsured motorist coverage (UM) at the same limits as your bodily injury liability coverage, but you do not have to accept this coverage. You can reject UM coverage, which must be in writing.
If you have more questions about the auto insurance laws in Florida, feel free to visit one of our knowledgeable agents at a Direct location near you, Live Chat with an agent, or call at 1-877-GO-Direct (1-877-463-4732).