Car Insurance in Florida

Direct Auto Insurance is proud to offer auto insurance in Florida. At Direct, we cover those who may not be accepted by other Florida auto insurance companies.

We offer free quotes for affordable auto insurance quotes in Florida, no matter your past credit score or driving history. At Direct you’ll get flexible auto insurance coverage plans to fit your needs, and easy access to agents near you, online or over the phone.

Below is some information and answers to common questions about Florida Auto Insurance:

How do I find the cheapest car insurance in Florida?

Florida car insurance rates can vary depending on your driving record, the type of vehicle you drive, and of course, the amount of coverage you choose. The first step to finding cheap auto insurance quotes in Florida is to decide how much coverage you need.

Florida Car Insurance Requirements

Florida law requires that you have liability insurance on all your registered vehicles and carry proof of insurance in your vehicles at all times. The minimum required insurance for any person who has a valid Florida tag (even if the vehicle is in another state or inoperative) is:

  • Personal Injury Protection (PIP): $10,000 per occurrence
  • Property Damage Liability (PDL): $10,000 per occurrence

Bodily Injury Liability (BIL) coverage

If you are responsible for an auto accident that causes bodily injury and you cannot cover those damages, you will be required to have BIL insurance in addition to PIP and PDL coverage. If this happens, you will also have to have:

  • BIL: $10,000 per person/$20,000 per occurrence

BIL coverage is also required if you get convicted for a DUI. In this case, the minimum auto insurance required in Florida is:

  • BIL: $100,000 per person/$300,000 per occurrence
  • PIP: $10,000 per occurrence
  • PDL: $50,000 per occurrence

Coverage Definitions

Personal Injury Protection (PIP): also known as Florida no-fault insurance, covers you and those insured on your policy for certain damages caused by an auto accident no matter who is at fault. PIP also covers your relatives who live with you, the passengers in your car who do not have and are not required to have their own PIP coverage, and sometimes pedestrians. PIP benefits vary by policy and insurance company, but in general this coverage will also apply to reasonable and necessary medical expenses, work loss, and funeral benefits.

Property Damage Liability (PDL): pays for damage to another's property caused while operating your vehicle. This covers damage to property such as vehicles, poles, fences, etc. The “limit” is the maximum amount your insurance company will pay for property damage

Bodily Injury Liability (BIL): pays for medical and legal protection should you or another insured on your policy cause bodily injury to another person while operating your vehicle. The “limit” is the maximum amount your insurance company will pay for bodily injury damages.

What happens if I don’t have the minimum coverage?

You are required to have PIP and PDL coverage for as long as your car is registered and licensed in Florida. If you don’t keep the required minimum coverage, the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles can suspend your driving privileges, vehicle license plate and registration, for up to three years or until proof of Florida auto insurance is provided. To get your privileges reinstated will cost you at least $150.00, so it pays to get insured and stay insured.

Need More Information?

If you still have questions, would like to learn about other Florida auto insurance options such as uninsured motorist coverage, or if you would like to get an affordable auto insurance quote, contact Direct Auto Insurance: online, over the phone at 1-877-GO DIRECT (1-877-463-4732), or visit one of our office locations.

Other Resources

Florida – Direct Auto Insurance Locations