ATTENTION! You are using Internet Explorer 8 or older, which we will not be supporting after April 14, 2015.
We strongly encourage you to upgrade your browser to a newer version by following these simple steps.
Louisiana Auto Insurance Laws
Get Your
Quote



or retrieve an online quote
Find a store

Louisiana Auto Insurance Laws

If you plan to be out driving the open roads, you have to have auto insurance in Louisiana. Direct Auto Insurance offers the right amount of coverage to help you meet Louisiana's financial responsibility requirements.

If you live or are moving to Louisiana, here’s the required amount of auto insurance you will need to drive legally on the roads.

Louisiana Car Insurance Requirements

Louisiana law requires that you have financial responsibility on all your registered vehicles and that you carry proof of insurance in all vehicles. The easiest way to maintain financial responsibility is with car insurance. The minimum liability limits required for car insurance in Louisiana is:

  • Bodily Injury Liability coverage of at least $15,000 to cover injury to or death of any one person that results from an auto accident, and $30,000 to cover injuries to or death of more than one person resulting from a single auto accident.

  • Property Damage Liability coverage of at least $25,000 to cover damage to the property of others caused by an auto accident.

Your insurance company is required to offer you uninsured motorist coverage (UMBI) at the same limits as your bodily injury liability coverage, but you do not have to accept this coverage. You can choose to purchase Economic Only UMBI coverage, which would compensate you only for your economic losses, such as medical expenses and lost wages, but would not cover non-economic damages such as pain and suffering. Or, you can choose to reject UMBI coverage entirely. Your choice will be recorded on a UMBI Coverage Form, which must be signed by you.

Louisiana Motorcycle Insurance Laws

Having motorcycle insurance is the smartest way to ride. The motorcycle insurance requirements are the same as car insurance requirements in Louisiana:

  • Bodily Injury Liability coverage of at least $15,000 to cover injury to or death of any one person that results from an auto accident, and $30,000 to cover injuries to or death of more than one person resulting from a single auto accident.

  • Property Damage Liability coverage of at least $25,000 to cover damage to the property of others caused by an auto accident.

Not all motorcycle insurance policies in all states cover passengers. Never assume that motorcycle guest passengers are automatically covered by motorcycle liability insurance, as passengers in automobiles are. In fact, motorcycle passengers are not covered by default under many motorcycle liability insurance policies. Motorcycle Guest Passenger Liability (GPL) must be purchased in order to cover your passenger. This coverage will cover passengers if you are found to be liable or legally at fault.

Always practice safety precautions with a motorcycle. Safety gear and safe driving are important when riding a motorcycle, which is why we've put together a quick list of the top three tips for motorcycle safety.

If you have more questions about the auto insurance laws in Louisiana, feel free to visit one of our knowledgeable agents at a Direct Auto Louisiana location near you, chat with an agent online, or call at 1-877-GO-Direct (1-877-463-4732).


 
Get Your
Quote



or retrieve an online quote
Find a store

Get Your
Quote
or retrieve an online quote

We’re more than just great insurance. Follow us for some pleasant surprises.
Connect with us on Facebook Connect with us on Twitter Connect with us on YouTube Connect with us on Instagram
©2016 Direct General