ATTENTION! You are using Internet Explorer 8 or older, which we will not be supporting after April 14, 2015.
We strongly encourage you to upgrade your browser to a newer version by following these simple steps.
Virginia Auto Insurance Laws
Get Your
Quote



or retrieve an online quote
Find a store

Virginia Auto Insurance Laws

If you plan to be out driving the open roads, you have to have auto insurance in Virginia. Direct Auto Insurance offers the right amount of coverage to keep you legal on the roads.

If you live or are moving to Virginia, here’s the required amount of auto insurance you will need to drive legally on the roads.

Virginia Car Insurance Requirements

Virginia law requires that you have financial responsibility on all your registered vehicles and that you carry proof in all vehicles. The easiest way to maintain financial responsibility is with car insurance. The minimum liability limits required for car insurance in Virginia are:

  • Bodily Injury Liability coverage of at least $25,000 to cover injury or death to any one person that results from an auto accident, and $50,000 to cover injuries to or death of more than one person resulting from a single auto accident.

  • Property Damage Liability coverage of at least $20,000 to cover damage to the property of others caused by an auto accident.

  • Uninsured Motorist coverage of $25,000 for bodily injury per person and coverage of $50,000 for property damage per accident.

If convicted of a DWI, you will be required to carry a car insurance policy with liability limits of $50,000/$100,000 for bodily injury and $40,000 for property damage as well as certify that policy on an SR22 certificate of insurance.

You are also required to carry uninsured motorist coverage (UM) at the same limits as your liability coverage. If you have liability limits that are greater than the minimum finance responsibility requirement, you are entitled to reject the additional UM coverage in writing.

Virginia Motorcycle Insurance Laws

Even if you cruise the roads of Virginia, you have to stay covered with motorcycle insurance. The required auto insurance laws are the same as car insurance requirements:

  • Bodily Injury Liability coverage of at least $25,000 to cover injury or death to any one person that results from an auto accident, and $50,000 to cover injuries to or death of more than one person resulting from a single auto accident.

  • Property Damage Liability coverage of at least $20,000 to cover damage to the property of others caused by an auto accident.

Not all motorcycle insurance policies in all states cover passengers. Never assume that motorcycle guest passengers are automatically covered by motorcycle liability insurance. In fact, motorcycle passengers are not covered by default under many motorcycle liability insurance policies. Motorcycle Guest Passenger Liability (GPL) must be purchased in order to cover your passenger. This coverage will cover passengers if you are found to be liable or legally at fault.

Always practice safety precautions with a motorcycle. Safety gear and safe driving are important when riding a motorcycle. For more information, check out our motorcycle safety tips.

If you have more questions about the auto insurance laws in Virginia, feel free to visit one of our knowledgeable agents at a Direct Virginia location near you, visit us at Directgeneral.com, or call at 1-877-GO-Direct (1-877-463-4732).


 
Get Your
Quote



or retrieve an online quote
Find a store

Get Your
Quote
or retrieve an online quote

We’re more than just great insurance. Follow us for some pleasant surprises.
Connect with us on Facebook Connect with us on Twitter Connect with us on YouTube Connect with us on Instagram
©2016 Direct General