Driving Without Insurance

Not all states are created equal when it comes to car insurance laws, but all states DO require drivers to carry insurance or some form of financial responsibility. This can include a self-insurance certificate, bond or other money deposit. No matter where you live, driving without insurance or financial responsibility is against the law. From Florida to Washington, you'll face a penalty of some kind for driving with no car insurance.

What happens if you get caught driving without car insurance?

Getting caught driving without car insurance can hold some hefty consequences. Penalties vary by state, but can include:

  • Driver's license suspension
  • Vehicle registration suspension
  • Tickets for no insurance
  • Jail time
  • Civil and criminal penalties if in an accident
  • Fines that range from $100 to $1,000
  • Having to meet SR22 requirements for 3 to 5 years

States like Mississippi and Tennessee even have electronic verification systems in place that track down uninsured drivers through their vehicle registrations and VIN numbers. Driving without auto insurance in one of these states could mean fines of up to $300, getting your vehicle towed, not being able to renew your tags, and other harsh penalties.

On top of these costs and legal penalties, there's also the expense of an auto accident to consider if you're an uninsured driver. Could you pay for repairs to your vehicle out of your own pocket if something were to happen? And what about medical bills after an accident? Your finances could take a real hit if you're in an auto accident as an uninsured driver.

Your best choice? Drive insured.

Avoid numerous legal penalties and paying a fine for not having car insurance by driving insured. Direct Auto & Life Insurance currently provides auto insurance in more than a dozen states. If we don't provide service in your area, we can quickly connect you with an insurance company that does. To learn about the auto insurance coverage requirements and related information for one of those states, just click on a link below:

If you more questions about laws in your state, visit your nearest Direct Auto & Life location, call us at 1-877-GO-DIRECT (1-877-463-4732), or visit online at Directgeneral.com.

Driving Without Insurance
Get Your
Quote
 
 
 

or retrieve an online quote

Find a store