Direct Auto & Life Insurance is proud to offer personal auto insurance and commercial auto insurance in Florida , the great "Sunshine State"! From the many theme parks to the Everglades, Florida is a state worthy of exploring from tip to tip. Direct is here to help you make sure your auto insurance needs are met, so you can hit the road and the beach—whenever you want!
At Direct, we welcome all drivers to apply for coverage and even cover those who may not be accepted by other Florida auto insurance companies . And no matter your credit score or driving history, we always offer free quotes for affordable auto insurance in Florida. Partner with Direct for your personal or commercial auto insurance needs and you’ll get flexible auto insurance coverage plans to fit your needs as well as easy access to agents online, over the phone, or in person!
Keep reading for helpful information and answers to common questions about Florida auto insurance:
How do I find the cheapest car insurance in Florida?
To understand how you can get the cheapest car insurance in Florida, it helps to first understand how auto insurance rates are determined and how some vehicle factors could drive up your insurance rate . Florida car insurance rates can vary depending on your driving record, the type of vehicle you drive, and the amount of insurance coverage you select beyond the required minimum amount. When getting cheap auto insurance quotes in Florida, explore your options and make sure you’re getting the coverage you need.
Florida Car Insurance Requirements
Because the “Sunshine State” is a " no-fault state ,” Florida car insurance requirements are a little different than other state insurance laws . Florida law requires that you have insurance on all of your registered vehicles and carry proof of insurance in your vehicles at all times. The minimum required insurance for any person who has a valid Florida tag (even if the vehicle is in another state or inoperative) is:
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP ): $10,000 per occurrence
- Property Damage Liability (PDL): $10,000 per occurrence
Bodily Injury Liability (BIL) Coverage
Florida requires every driver to be financially responsible. If you are responsible for an auto accident that causes bodily injury and you cannot cover those damages, you will be required to have BIL insurance in addition to PIP and PDL coverage. If this happens, you will also have to have:
- BIL: $10,000 per person/$20,000 per occurrence
BIL coverage is also required if you get convicted for a DUI . In this case, the minimum auto insurance required in Florida is:
- BIL: $100,000 per person/$300,000 per occurrence
- PIP: $10,000 per occurrence
- PDL : $50,000 per occurrence
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) : also known as Florida PIP , covers you and those insured on your policy for certain damages caused by an auto accident no matter who is at fault. PIP also covers your relatives who live with you, the passengers in your car who do not have and are not required to have their own PIP coverage, and sometimes pedestrians. PIP benefits vary by policy and insurance company, but in general this coverage will also apply to reasonable and necessary medical expenses, work loss, and funeral benefits.
Property Damage Liability (PDL): pays for damage to another's property caused while operating your vehicle. This covers damage to property such as vehicles, poles, fences, etc. The “limit” is the maximum amount your insurance company will pay for property damage
Bodily Injury Liability (BIL): pays for medical and legal protection should you or another insured on your policy cause bodily injury to another person while operating your vehicle. The “limit” is the maximum amount your insurance company will pay for bodily injury damages.
Florida Commercial Auto Insurance Requirements
In order to register a commercial vehicle in Florida you must first meet the minimum insurance coverage requirements . Most commercial vehicles in Florida are required to have the following minimum levels of combined bodily injury insurance and property damage liability insurance, though requirements vary depending on the weight and type of vehicle.
For a commercial vehicle weighing...
- Between 26,000 and 35,000 pounds — at least $50,000 per occurrence
- More than 35,000 pounds but less than 44,000 pounds — at least $100,000 per occurrence
- More than 44,000 pounds — at least $300,000 per occurrence
Regardless of the vehicle weight, you must have commercial auto insurance in Florida in order to use your vehicle for business (other than commuting). Whether you deliver ice cream in Jacksonville or provide landscaping services in Orlando, you can find a competitively priced commercial auto insurance policy when you choose Direct, with flexible payment options and even available discounts.*
What happens if I don’t have the minimum coverage?
Driving without insurance in Florida is risky. You are required to have PIP and PDL coverage for as long as your car is registered and licensed in Florida. If you don’t keep the required minimum coverage, the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles can suspend your driving privileges, vehicle license plate and registration, for up to three years or until proof of Florida auto insurance is provided. To get your privileges reinstated will cost you at least $150.00, so it pays to get insured and stay insured.
More Information About Florida Insurance
To learn more about your options for car insurance, commercial auto insurance, and even term life insurance in Florida, or to get an affordable auto insurance quote, contact us online, over the phone at 1-877-GO-DIRECT (1-877-463-4732), or stop by a Florida office location near you!
- Florida Office of Insurance Regulation
- Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
- Official State of Florida website
- Florida Department of Transportation
*Commercial auto insurance produced by Right Choice Insurance Agency, Inc. and Direct General Insurance Agency, Inc. d/b/a Direct Auto & Life Insurance as agents for Titan Indemnity Company, a Nationwide Insurance Company & its affiliates. Not available in all stores. Pay plans, discounts and coverages subject to terms and conditions.